Youth For Christ

Reaching young people in Kern County

Our Focus

Introducing young people to Jesus at pivotal moments

YFC is a movement that reaches young people everywhere with the hope of Christ. We work with the local church and other like-minded partners to raise up lifelong followers of Jesus who lead by their godliness in lifestyle, devotion to the Word of God and prayer, passion for sharing the love of Christ, and commitment to social involvement.

64 Years and counting Serving Kern County

Our pursuit: relational ministry rooted in Christ’s truth. 
His truth about community, empathy, and kingdom-inspired diversity guides our
 work and shapes our communities.

Stay Connected

Get special updates from YFC USA when you sign up

[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

Adam Capehart

Executive Director

Started in 2005. acapehart@yfckern.org

Ahime Covarrubias

Administrative Assistant

Started in 2007. receptionist@yfckern.org

Araya Brown

Director of Volunteer Services

Started in 2013. abrown@yfckern.org

Esmeralda Soto

Ministry Staff

Started in 2021. esoto@yfckern.org

Hannah Slechter

Director of Parent Life

Started in 2018. hslechter@yfckern.org

Jason Bachinski

Camp Director

Started in 2020. jbachinski@yfckern.org

Jerry Buzzell

Chief Financial Officer

Started in 1991. jbuzzell@yfckern.org

Jon Plumley

Director of Juvenile Justice Ministries

Started in 2015. jplumley@yfckern.org

Josh Heimiller

Chief Operations Officer

Started in 2014. jheimiller@yfckern.org

Judi Ferrandini

CL Ministry Leader

Started in 2018. jferrrandini@yfckern.org

Julio Regla

Associate CLM Director

Started in 2021. jregla@yfckern.org

Laura Mitchell

CL Ministry Leader

Started in 2020. lmitchell@yfckern.org

Matt Bockhahn

CL Ministry Leader

Started in 2019. mbockhahn@yfckern.org

Nick McNeill

CL Ministry Leader

Started in 2022. nmcneill@yfckern.org

Rebekah Cornell

Associate CL Director

Started in 2014. rcornell@yfckern.org

Sandra Millard

Director Emeritus

Started in 2005. smillard@yfckern.org

Sierra Phillips

CL Ministry Leader

Started in 2017. sphillips@yfckern.org

Steve Gold

Director of Campus Ministries

Started in 2022. sgold@yfckern.org

Tamra Johnson

PL Ministry Leader

Started in 2014. tjohnson@yfckern.org

Teresa Franetovich

Director Emeritus Parent Life

Started in 2011. tfranetovich@yfckern.org

Terri Capehart

Director of Project Serve

Started in 2009. tcapehart@yfckern.org

Wade Slechter

Chief Ministry Officer

Started in 2016. wslechter@yfckern.org

Our Team

Partner with YFC

Be a part of reaching the next generation

YFC USA & YFC International

A global movement to uncover God's Story in the next generation

As a ministry of YFC USA we are dedicated to acting as a local extension of the work being done nationally. We actively work to create engaging experiences for youth in our area.